Faculty of Science

Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences teaching awards

Further information


  • May – first nominations 1 May – 31 May 2011
  • October – second nominations 1 October – 31 October 2011
  • Early November – nominees invited to provide a submission
  • January 2012 – nominee submissions close
  • Mid January 2012 – nominee invited to submit an application
  • February 2012 – judging process
  • May 2012 – award ceremony

Contact us

Dr Brenton Knott, FNAS
Faculty Associate Dean, Teaching and Learning
Telephone: (+61 8) 6488 2223

The Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences makes up to six awards each year, with flexibility to award more than one award in any one of five categories.

The Faculty strives to create a rich and rewarding learning experience, as set out in our three key objectives. We also provide online student support modules and a student-staff consultative committee.

FNAS teaching award categories

  • Excellence in Coursework Teaching Award for an Individual Teacher
    • Excellence in Coursework Teaching
    • Excellence in Coursework teaching (Early Career Teacher)
  • Excellence in Coursework Teaching Award for a Unit or Teaching Team
  • Excellence in Postgraduate Supervision Award
  • Excellence in Research Supervision Award
  • Excellence in Coursework Teaching Support Award.

Nominations can be made online when the Awards are open.

Teaching award guidelines

For further explanation of the awards and categories, consult:

Judging panel

  • Vice-Dean or Nominee (Chair)
  • Associate Dean Teaching and Learning
  • Co-opted members of the Faculty Teaching and Learning Committee that represent all schools
  • Nominee of Pro Vice Chancellor (Teaching and Learning) or co-opted Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning) from another Faculty
  • Manager, Science Student Office
  • Two students enrolled in the Faculty (one postgraduate, one undergraduate).

2010 – 2011 award winners